Walter Harrison Scholarship

Rayle EMC participates in Georgia EMC’s Walter Harrison Scholarship program. This program was created in 1985 by the Georgia Electric Membership Corporation Board of Directors to honor the late Walter Harrison, a pioneer in bringing electricity to rural areas of Georgia.

Each year GEMC awards several academic scholarships to deserving, hard-working high school seniors. The scholarships are awarded in honor of Walter Harrison, an early leader of the electric cooperative movement in Georgia. Students from each electric co-op submit applications and an essay, which is judged by an impartial panel. The statewide winners are announced in April.

Students applying for this scholarship must live in a house that receives electric service from Rayle EMC.

If your power provider is a different EMC, you must submit your application directly to that EMC. Georgia Power or MEAG customers are not eligible.

If you have any questions, please any Rayle EMC office or call (706) 678-2116.

Click here to download the 2024 WHS Application.