About Us

Rayle Electric Membership Corporation is a member-owned electric cooperative that provides electrical power to the rural areas of all or parts of ten northeast Georgia counties. Rayle EMC serves Wilkes, Oglethorpe, Lincoln, Taliaferro, Greene, Hancock, Morgan, Oconee, Madison, and Clarke counties. It is our goal to bring our member-owners, economical and reliable electrical energy, and exceptional customer service and to do so with the utmost professionalism. Whether you are a new or prospective member or have been a member for years, we at Rayle EMC pledge to provide energy solutions to those we serve.

Our History

In May 1935, a letter of application was sent to the newly formed Rural Electrification Administration requesting that a Charter be granted for the Rayle Electric Association. In the early summer of the same year, REA approved the Charter, and thus was born the eighth rural electric company in the US, and the first in Georgia.

The first meeting of members took place on Feb. 5, 1936. The entire membership, consisting of five members was in attendance. They were – S. L. Richardson, E.W. Armour, H. L. Arnold, A. H. Barnett, and W. P. Callaway. By-laws and a $1 membership fee were adopted, and a $12,000 loan from REA was executed. Construction of the first 11.2 miles of electric distribution lines from Washington to Rayle was approved.

Also, the first officers of the fledgling co-op were elected. Mr. E. W. Armour, who served as President from 1936-1972 was elected, as well as Mr. H. L. Arnold as Vice-President, and A. H. Barnett as Secretary-Treasurer.

In 1939, the name of the co-op was changed to its present name, The Rayle Electric Membership Corporation.

By 1951, there were 4,829 members and 1,488 miles of line had been constructed.

In 1954, construction on the present headquarters facility in Washington was begun. The building was occupied by April 1, 1956.

Many years and many members have accumulated since those early formative days. Today, Rayle EMC has over 13,900 consumers and 3,229 miles of line, delivering affordable, and reliable electricity service to our member-owners homes and businesses.